Jemimah, Keziah, and Keren-happuch

The last chapter of Job is one of the most beautiful chapters in all the Word.  I love the blatant honesty that bows low before a Being so much higher…so much wiser.  I love the recognition given to a Sovereign God, “You can do all things and no one can thwart your purposes!”  I love that after Job has seen who God really is, he sits in ashes, dumbfounded.  I love this God who restores so many areas of Job’s life after a profoundly hard season.

The thing I love the most about the last chapter of Job is the fact that he has three new daughters and seven new sons and yet, only the daughters are named.  Now, you all know I love me some boys, but being a girl, I love that the girls are singled out here.  Not because we are of more value, but because we do hold value.  In fact, we share in a rich inheritance.

I’ve loved the daughters’ names for a long time, and I’ve studied what their meanings are, but today, the Holy Spirit showed me something fresh. In Job 42, we are told that Job’s daughters are named Jemimah, Keziah, and Keren-happuch.  If we go deep enough, we might see why their names are worth mentioning in a book deemed holy.

Jemimah:  dove, fair as the day, peace, daylight

Keziah:  cassia (which is an aromatic herb/fragrance)

Keren-happuch:  horn of stibium…which is like a paint you would use as eyeliner or eyeshadow

The beauty of these three daughters surpasses that of all the women in the land.

When we look deeply at their names, we can see that Job was praising God for doing a reversal in his life.  He was praising God for restoration and blessing.

His first daughter arrives and he names her dove, fair as the day, peace, daylight.  After a hard season of enduring calamity in the night, he sees peace and daylight when he looks at this blessing of new life.

His second daughter comes and he names her after an herb, cassia, which might smell like cinnamon.  He remembers the offensive breath(Job 19:17) and the ulcers (Job 2:7) during his season of wrestling with God and he praises God for replacing those things with something fresh and sweet smelling.

His third daughter is born and he continues to praise God for his restoration.  He names her “horn of stibium,” after a type of eyeliner/eyeshadow, something put on to accentuate beauty.  We can see him in Job 16:15-16, “I have sewed sackcloth upon my skin, and defiled my horn in the dust.  My face is foul with weeping, and on my eyelids is the shadow of death.”  Is that not amazing?  He had buried his horn in the ground (symbolic of strength, power, and nobility) and had the look of death on his eyelids.  But, after God restored, he now had the horn of stibium on his daughter which pointed to fresh life, beauty, and promise…which was painted on her very eyelids!

I hope this blesses you like it did me.

Our God is a God of reversals. There will be rewards for your trials. Hold Fast.

Leave a Reply

